Ralphs Grocery Company layoff notices at a glance
Ralphs Grocery Company has filed 9 WARN notices with the California Employment Development Department between Sep 15, 2014 and Oct 14, 2016, naming 643 workers. 5 were closures and 4 were layoffs; 4 permanent, 0 temporary, 5 with the type left blank. The largest single notice named 87 workers in Los Angeles County on Oct 14, 2016. Its latest notice, 87 workers in Los Angeles County dated Oct 14, 2016, was 0.6% of the 14,596 workers named in all 124 Los Angeles County notices of fiscal year 2016-2017. The same employer appears in 3 U.S. Labor Department wage and hour investigations, with $32 in back wages agreed for 1 worker.
Every notice, newest first
| Notice date | Effective | County | City | Workers | Type | Days notice |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 14, 2016 | Jan 3, 2017 | Los Angeles | Los Angeles | 87 | Closure, type not stated | 81 |
| Apr 28, 2016 | Jul 1, 2016 | Riverside | Indian Wells | 63 | Closure, type not stated | 64 |
| Sep 16, 2015 | Nov 20, 2015 | Los Angeles | Glendora | 73 | Layoff, permanent | 65 |
| Aug 14, 2015 | Oct 25, 2015 | Orange | Santa Ana | 75 | Layoff, permanent | 72 |
| Aug 13, 2015 | Oct 16, 2015 | Los Angeles | Hermosa Beach | 74 | Layoff, permanent | 64 |
| Aug 5, 2015 | Oct 9, 2015 | Los Angeles | Pico Rivera | 67 | Layoff, permanent | 65 |
| May 28, 2015 | Jul 31, 2015 | Los Angeles | Mission Hills | 70 | Closure, type not stated | 64 |
| Apr 29, 2015 | Jul 10, 2015 | Los Angeles | Duarte | 72 | Closure, type not stated | 72 |
| Sep 15, 2014 | Nov 19, 2014 | Los Angeles | Whittier | 62 | Closure, type not stated | 65 |
Where the notices landed
- Los Angeles County7 notices, 505 workers
- Orange County1 notice, 75 workers
- Riverside County1 notice, 63 workers
- Los Angeles1 notice, 87 workers
- Santa Ana1 notice, 75 workers
- Hermosa Beach1 notice, 74 workers
- Glendora1 notice, 73 workers
- Duarte1 notice, 72 workers
- Mission Hills1 notice, 70 workers
- Pico Rivera1 notice, 67 workers
- Indian Wells1 notice, 63 workers
- Whittier1 notice, 62 workers
Local pages: Los Angeles employment lawyer, Santa Ana employment lawyer, Los Angeles County employment law guide, Orange County employment law guide.
How to read this record
Notice date is the date on the employer's letter. Effective is the first day of separations it announced. Days notice is the gap between them; California Labor Code 1401 calls for 60 days from a covered employer, and section 1402 makes a short notice worth a day of pay and benefits for every day it is short, up to 60.
Every notice on file for Ralphs Grocery Company shows 60 days or more between the two dates, which is what the statute expects. The questions that remain for a worker are the ones the notice does not answer: whether pay and benefits ran through the effective date, whether final wages arrived on the last day (Labor Code 201 and 203), and who was selected and why.
Full statute walk-through: the California 60-day rule, section by section.
If you work, or worked, at Ralphs Grocery Company
Keep the notice, every email about the selection, and your final pay stub. A free review covers four things in one call: whether the notice period was honored and paid, whether final pay and vacation payout arrived on time, whether the selection pattern raises an age, pregnancy or leave, or retaliation question, and what a proposed severance release is actually worth before you sign it. Call (800) 371-3088 or send the notice.
Source: California EDD WARN reports, fiscal years 2014-2015 to 2016-2017. Record last checked against the EDD on Oct 30, 2026. Back to the layoff tracker.
About this data: Notices come from the California Employment Development Department WARN reports (fiscal years 2014-2015 to today) and are reloaded from the EDD every Tuesday and Thursday. Employer names appear as the employer wrote them on the notice, grouped where the names clearly refer to the same company. A notice is not a finding that any law was broken. This page is general information, not legal advice about your situation.