Layoff notices in Ontario at a glance
Ontario employers have filed 174 WARN notices with the EDD since July 1, 2014, naming 12,823 workers. The most recent notice is dated Oct 8, 2026. 22 of the notices show fewer than 60 days between notice and effective date outside the 2020 COVID window; the 60-day rule explains what that gap can mean for the workers involved. Since the EDD began reporting industry in 2026, the sectors filing most here are Manufacturing (206 workers), Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation (18 workers).
Notices in fiscal year 2016-2017, newest first
9 notices, 867 workers. Show all years.
| Employer | Notice date | Effective | Workers | Type | Days notice |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| bebe stores, Inc. | Mar 25, 2017 | May 27, 2017 | 20 | Closure, permanent | 63 |
| Technicolor USA, Inc. | Mar 20, 2017 | May 19, 2017 | 71 | Closure, permanent | 60 |
| Meadowbrook Meat Company, Inc. | Mar 16, 2017 | May 19, 2017 | 171 | Closure, permanent | 64 |
| Oakley, Inc. | Feb 10, 2017 | Jul 31, 2017 | 78 | Closure, type not stated | 171 |
| Hino Motors Manufacturing U.S.A., Inc. | Nov 15, 2016 | Jan 27, 2017 | 135 | Closure, permanent | 73 |
| Bert-Co Industries, Inc. | Oct 14, 2016 | Dec 25, 2016 | 106 | Layoff, type not stated | 72 |
| The Carlstar Group | Sep 13, 2016 | Dec 2, 2016 | 139 | Closure, permanent | 80 |
| Peppermint Holdings, LLC d/b/a One | Jul 5, 2016 | Aug 22, 2016 | 60 | Layoff, permanent | 48 under 60 |
| Owens & Minor Distribution, Inc. | Jun 27, 2016 | Aug 27, 2016 | 87 | Layoff, permanent | 61 |
Largest layoffs in Ontario since 2014
| Employer | Notices | Workers | Latest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adecco USA, Inc. | 1 | 730 | Jun 15, 2016 |
| UPS | 3 | 554 | Jun 12, 2024 |
| Charter Communications Customer Contact Center | 1 | 430 | Jun 12, 2024 |
| DHL Supply Chain | 1 | 346 | May 1, 2025 |
| INTELLISOURCE, LLC | 1 | 312 | Dec 5, 2014 |
| CarMax Ontario | 1 | 294 | Apr 8, 2020 |
| AEG Management Ontario, LLC | 1 | 280 | May 19, 2016 |
| O.W. Lee Co., Inc. | 2 | 276 | Dec 18, 2020 |
| Chick-fil-A, Inc. | 3 | 273 | Nov 24, 2021 |
| DT Employer LLC | 2 | 207 | Oct 15, 2020 |
| Myers Power Products, Inc. | 1 | 206 | Oct 8, 2026 |
| Hubbell Power Systems | 1 | 193 | Aug 5, 2022 |
| Crocs | 1 | 183 | Feb 28, 2019 |
| Burlington Coat Factory of Texas Inc. dba Burlington | 1 | 177 | Apr 8, 2020 |
| Meadowbrook Meat Company, Inc. | 1 | 171 | Mar 16, 2017 |
| Hilton Doubletree Hotels Ontario-Airport | 1 | 170 | Apr 3, 2020 |
| Safariland, LLC | 2 | 170 | Feb 7, 2020 |
| Solar Link International, Inc. | 1 | 169 | May 19, 2016 |
| Levy Restaurants | 1 | 167 | May 19, 2016 |
| Summit Machine Inc. | 2 | 164 | Jul 7, 2020 |
Ontario by fiscal year
| Fiscal year | Notices | Closures | Workers |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-2027 | 2 | 1 | 224 |
| 2025-2026 | 7 | 4 | 284 |
| 2024-2025 | 19 | 9 | 1,020 |
| 2023-2024 | 13 | 8 | 1,372 |
| 2022-2023 | 11 | 7 | 539 |
| 2021-2022 | 12 | 8 | 785 |
| 2020-2021 | 21 | 5 | 915 |
| 2019-2020 | 41 | 7 | 3,197 |
| 2018-2019 | 14 | 11 | 961 |
| 2017-2018 | 8 | 6 | 289 |
| 2016-2017 | 9 | 6 | 867 |
| 2015-2016 | 12 | 7 | 1,819 |
| 2014-2015 | 5 | 3 | 551 |
Local help after a layoff in Ontario
A WARN notice is the start of a paper trail, not the end of your rights. Workers in Ontario bring WARN back-pay claims in the Superior Court of the county, and the agency routes for the questions that usually travel with a layoff are the same statewide: unpaid final wages and vacation payout go to the Labor Commissioner, discrimination in who was selected goes to the Civil Rights Department (three years to file) or the EEOC (300 days). Our Ontario employment law page covers the local courts, agencies and deadlines. See also all notices in the county. Free, confidential review: (800) 371-3088.
Source: California EDD WARN reports, July 2014 to Oct 27, 2026. County and city are as stated on the notice; for 2014 to 2017 filings, where the EDD listed only a city, the county is assigned from that city. Back to the layoff tracker.
About this data: Notices come from the California Employment Development Department WARN reports (fiscal years 2014-2015 to today) and are reloaded from the EDD every Tuesday and Thursday. Employer names appear as the employer wrote them on the notice, grouped where the names clearly refer to the same company. A notice is not a finding that any law was broken. This page is general information, not legal advice about your situation.